top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Volovik

Blog Entry #1

Updated: Aug 27, 2018


Hike in the Redwoods

In the start of the summer I took two online SMC classes, Microeconomics and Political Science, ending both with an A-. Meanwhile, I took a few ballet classes each week to keep myself in shape, hung out with friends, and had some tutoring sessions in preparation for the SAT Subject tests. By the end of the summer, I took a quick trip to San Diego to visit UCSD and the following week, I flew to San Francisco with my parents, cousin, her parents, and their friends. Once we got to San Francisco, we grabbed a van to drive about 4 hours to Mendocino. The following night, we drove another 4-5 hours up to a place called Humboldt. Both places were absolutely beautiful, however, my favorite part of the trip was hiking in a Redwood forest.

This year, in this engineering class, I'm most excited for working on the group projects. In general, I'm most excited to find out the college I will be going to next year.

18 views5 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Blog Entry #4

In my experience in competing at the JPL Regional Competition, I had an opportunity to view the creativity of students all through the LA County and socialize with some of them as well. I was able to

Blog Entry #3

The 'Claw Game' on Mars - A team of engineers working on a NASA Insight project have been working on the construction of a robotic arm whose job is to pick up two sensitive science packages from the s

Blog Entry #2

My individual research project was about the invention of the rubber band. With my research, I learned that the engineers had to take several tries to make sure that the elasticity was just right. Thi

bottom of page